Living into the circle: QWL

“Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose” – words attributed to Jean-Baptiste Alphonse Karr (1908 – 1990) and translated to “The more things change, the more they remain the same.”

True. As the self-proclaimed poster child for fat-to-fit, with congratulations, high regard, and apologies to Marshall Ramsey, et al, I write today toward closing the circle to my personal and earliest-ever-remembered dieting/releasing the pounds strategy.

From my previously posted “detox, cleanse, & choosing a lifestyle,” I’m happy to report that I released about eight pounds – trouble is, five of those were muscle pounds, and that’s not good; but the loss buoys me no less. I’ve broken one of those “milepost weight barriers,” and I can advance.
Now I’m on to yet another nutrition plan, under the able supervision of Enhanced Wellness, and – Voila! – it’s essentially the same diet I followed four decades ago, successfully and happily though not as healthfully.

For many months, except for interruptions of vacation, holidays, and detox/cleanse, I’ve done the FirstLineTherapy® Therapeutic Lifestyle Program, which promises to “dramatically reduce your risk of chronic diseases.” Those chronic bad-guys-of-accepted-everyday-living include high blood pressure, osteoarthritis, diabetes, high cholesterol, metabolic syndrome, osteoporosis, stroke, heart disease, cancer, and Alzheimer’s disease. Please, God: I don’t want any of those diseases, ever!

Now that I’ve successfully transitioned to a new phase of my healthy lifestyle, and now that I’ve completed the protocol scientifically designed to provide nutritional support for healthy metabolic function, specifically targeting the gastrointestinal-neuroendocrine-immune system, I’m ready for a new program.

Turns out that program’s almost exactly what I practiced during and for about 10 years after college, sometimes more successfully than not. Kelly Engelmann sent me home Wednesday with three dozen single-spaced pages titled the “Empower U Get Fit Plan.” Words of motivation, detailed information on how the program works, foods and beverages to eat and to avoid, suggested menus, and pages plus pages of recipes. Over the past two days, I’ve carefully hole-punched and bound those pages into a green three-ring binder with a custom-designed cover page that includes the motivational blurb from Girlfriend Susan Marquez: “Doing It For The ‘Holy S***! You Got Hot.” We all need inspiration, and that works for me.

Beyond, I’ve read and studied the content, boiling it to the succinct and overarching daily plan: four proteins, six low-glycemic index vegetables, five ounces greens, only one cup of coffee or tea and half my body weight in ounces of water plus a “medical food” shake and one scoop of Fiber Boost after dinner. The unstated protocol also involves snacks both morning and afternoon to avoid “sugar slump.”

So, I’ve thought about it and planned menus and shopping lists only to finally realize this morning – and thank goodness I can still remember some things from my early days! This is essentially the high-protein diet I did in the 70s. Created by Irwin Maxwell Stillman, MD, in 1967, the diet gained fame as “The Doctor’s Quick Weight Loss Diet” and featured a high-protein, low-carbohydrate, low-fat diet. My goodness, I could drop 30 pounds a month on that regimen! Can I still? We’ll see. I’ll call it my QWL diet.

Knowing I can do the QWL diet, except for a VERY few planned lapses to enjoy fruit-of-the-vine, I also know I must ramp up the exercise, and I have a new tool to help me do that, too. Yes, I’m investing in me.
My sister (sister-in-law if you must quibble) got one for her birthday and sings the praises of FitBit One. The company promises their family of products can motivate users “to stay active, live better, and reach goals.” MizrizBaboo’s definitely in!

Yesterday marked my first fling with my own FitBit, and I’ll officially start the QWL Sunday or Monday – more to come on progress after the next official weigh-in on tax day, April 15. Today I’m off to The Club to resume treadmill time, to get in my 10,000 steps today!

More later, but let me know about your health and nutrition efforts. And, oh, help me get the word out about You Can Fix The Fat From Childhood – & Other Heart Disease Risks, Too; we all could have avoided this and must assure our grandchildren do!

cover-plus cu banner

https://www.facebook.com/pages/You-CAN-Fix-The-Fat/371468532926487?ref=hl

Leave a Reply

